Sustainability Open Houses




Sustainability Open Houses bring together staff, faculty, and students to share their work furthering sustainability at University of Oregon. These quarterly meetings foster collaboration between faculty and staff, build community, and support campus as a living lab. 

Seeding Campus, Growing Sustainability

Faculty and students have amazing research and learning opportunities embedded right here, within the operations and maintenance of the mini-city that is the University of Oregon. Staff in all areas of the institution have a role to play in student success. But these two groups often have trouble finding each other and growing the kinds of mutually-beneficial collaborations that use the campus itself as a vibrant learning laboratory. Sustainability Open Houses bring together stakeholders from across campus to share work and spark ideas that lead to collaborations and cross-pollinations between academics and operations, learning and working.

Questions? Want to be added to the mailing list? Want to present at an upcoming open house? Contact Katie Lucca, Sustainability Program Coordinator, Office of Sustainability at

Open House Speakers

Sustainability Open House

  • When: Wednesday, May 22nd from 12:00-1:30pm
  • Where: EMU, Room 230 (Swindells Room)

​​​​​​Each micro-presentation will also include a short period for questions from the audience. After the presentations, attendees will have the chance to chat with the speakers and other attendees. Masks are welcome but not required.

Light refreshments provided!

Spring 2024 Speakers

  • Sophia Hamblin, Coalition Against Environmental Racism
  • Hira Shamsuddin, Outdoor Program
  • Dr. Julius McGee, Black Studies - Sociology, Social Inequality and Climate Change 
  • Liz Thorstenson, Campus Planning, Equity in Historic Preservation
  • Adam Jones, Environmental Health and Safety, Drinking Water Monitoring

Winter 2024 Speakers

  • Megan Banks and Lindsey Hayward, Sustainable City Year Program
  • John Davis, Lundquist College of Business, Center for Sustainable Business Practices
  • Sofia Rodriguez Baquero and Paulina Siri, Net Impact Undergraduate Chapter
  • Alorie Mayer, Campus Planning and Facilities Management, Facilities Services

Fall 2023 Speakers

  • Dave Reesor, Transportation Services, New Transportation Plan
  • Aaron Olsen & Martina Oxoby, Campus Planning & Facilities Management, 13th Avenue Enhancement – Schematic Design
  • Marc Schlossberg, School of Planning, Public Policy and Management, Transportation-focused Research
  • LiveMove, Student Organization, Eugene Projects

Spring 2023 Speakers

  • Steve Mital, Office of Sustainability and Thermal Transition Team
  • Kory Russel, Landscape Architecture and Environmental Studies
  • Bird Society, student group
  • Barbara Muraca, Philosophy and Environmental Studies
  • Alethea Steingisser and Joanna Merson, InfoGraphics Lab and PNW Just Futures Institute - The Atlas of Essential Work

Winter 2023 Speakers

  • Abigail Gravatt, Student Sustainability Center Spring Conference
  • Rosalee Clanton and Jane Brubaker, UO Grounds team, Sustainability upgrades to UO landscaping
  • Danny Pimentel, School of Journalism and Communications, Virtual reality and climate change
  • Grey Pierce, Digital Accessibility Architect, Equity and access in virtual options for sustainability
  • Lillian Moses, University Housing, LEED design of UO residence halls
  • David Reesor and Josh Kashinksky, Transportation Services, E-bike share program
  • Yesenia Hunter, Indigenous, Race, and Ethnic Studies, post-doctoral research

Fall 2022 Speakers

  • Adell Amos, Environment Initiative
  • Katie Staton, UO Longhouse
  • Jessie Gardner, PIELC
  • Max Arquilevich, Citizen's Climate Lobby intern
  • Leigh Johnson and Troy Brundidge, wildfires and incarcerated laborers research
  • Ella Meloy and Graham Yotsuya, Sustainability Leadership and Engagement Program 
  • Elly Vandegrift, Global Works International Internship

Spring 2022 Speakers

  • Cimmeron Gillespie, Campus Waste Audits with Office of Sustainability
  • Hollie Smith, SOJC Faculty and Researcher, Science journalism and environmental communications
  • Patrick McMurdo, GEO Study Abroad and Sustainability
  • Ashia Ajani, PhD student in English
  • Michael Geffel, Professor of Practice, School of Architecture and Environment

Winter 2022 Speakers

  • Paul Kempler, Associate Director - Oregon Center for Electrochemistry
  • Tim Winder, Custodial Services Manager
  • Taylor McHolm, Riley O'Connell, and Libby Mackin, Student Sustainability Center
  • Lauren Hallett, Biology and Environmental Studies
  • Abigail Leeder, Intertwined

Fall 2021 Speakers

  • Aris Hall, Lyllye Reynolds-Parker Black Cultural Center
  • Sarah Wald, English and Environmental Studies
  • Courtney Kaltenbach and Bryce Crumpston, Climate Justice League
  • Julie Voelker-Morris, Common Reading
  • Tom Driscoll, Dining Services